Clubs & Organizations

Clubs and Organizations

Presently, based upon student interest, the following activities and organizations are offered at Affton High School. Unless specified otherwise, all students are welcome to join and participate in these activities/organizations.

ANIME CLUB

Mr. O’Brien mobrien@afftonschools.net

Watch anime

CATS CREW (FRESHMEN MENTORING PROGRAM)

Ms. Free free@afftonschools.net

Mr. Mittler mmittler@afftonschools.net

Work with excellent Junior and Senior mentors to conduct freshmen orientation the day before school starts.  We use the LINK Crew curriculum. We also do team building exercises throughout the year that help the freshmen get acclimated and succeed in high school.  Also promotes getting involved in at least one sport/club/activity while in high school.

CYBER PATRIOTS

Ms. Koblents rkoblents@afftonschools.net

Computer Science

DECA

Mr. Stringer astringer@afftonschools.net

Prepares emerging leaders and entrepreneurs in marketing, finance, hospitality and management in high schools and colleges around the globe.  Must be enrolled in a business/marketing course. Competitions at Districts in February, State in March, and Internationals will be held in April.

FBLA (Future Business Leaders of America):

Mr. Henning dhenning@afftonschools.net

Provides Opportunities to develop leadership skills and increase knowledge of business.  Students compete on the district level with the possibility of advancing to the state and national levels.

FCCLA (Family Career, and Community Leaders of America)

Ms. Litzsinger Slitzsinger@afftonschools.net

Attend conferences and STAR events where students are able to compete in district, state, and possibly national competitions regarding presentations that revolve around FACS content.   GAMES CLUB Mr. Keith rkeith@afftonschools.net Students can come together to play games of all types: board games, card games, video games. It gives students a chance to find other students with similar interests. 

GARDEN CLUB

Mr. O’Brien mobrien@afftonschools.net

Grow vegetables at the high school and eat them!  Learn about the process. Go on field trips related to these topics.

GATEWAY TO CHANGE OR STUDENT RESPONSE TEAM

Mrs. Loris dloris@afftonschools.net

Six students are selected (freshmen and sophomores) to attend four summits sponsored by Character Plus and NCCJ St. Louis.  There, the students learn how to have constructive conversations on difficult topics such as race and discrimination. They look at their school and define a problem that Affton has and then learn how to ask questions, gather data, analyze the findings and create a solution for that problem (social justice project).

GAY STRAIGHT ALLIANCE

Mr. Jennings bjennings@afftonschools.net

Ms. Nelson jnelson@afftonschools.net

The Gay Straight Alliance’s mission is to raise awareness and understanding of human diversity of all kinds including sexual orientation and gender identity.

HIGH SCHOOL E SPORTS

Ms. Koblents bkoblents@afftonschools.net

Mr. Jasnaski ajasnaski@afftonschools.net

Electronic sports, not to be confused with video games. Esports takes video gaming to another level with organized competitive gameplay between two teams, governed by its own strict set of rules and guidelines.

HOSA (Future Health Professionals)

Mrs. Wall awall@afftonschools.net

Health Occupations Students of America is a national professional organization for students interested in a healthcare career.  The officers are elected and meet once a month to plan activities for the organization. Activities include team building activities, national fundraisers, local fundraisers, and state and national competitions.

INTERNATIONAL CLUB

Mr Jennings bjennings@afftonschools.net

The international club is open to all students of Affton High School.  The International Club’s goal is to raise awareness of, promote the value of, and maximize opportunities for students from a diverse variety of places of origin and cultures.

KEY CLUB (SPONSORED BY KIWANIS)

Mrs. Allen mallen@afftonschools.net

student-led organization whose goal is to encourage leadership through serving others

MATHLETES

Mr. Polokonis dpolokonis@afftonschools.net

Mathletes is a club dedicated to celebrating the beauty of mathematics.  There are several contests throughout the year, in which students have a chance to compete against other schools all over Missouri.

MENTORING MATTERS

Mrs. Merlo mmerlo@afftonschools.net

Mrs. Stewart gstewart@afftonschools.net

MODEL UN

Mrs. Loris dloris@afftonschools.net

Objective is to write resolution on one of the topics given and have it pass at the mock UN which is held the first part of November at SEMO

NATIONAL HONOR SOCIETY

Mr. Esselman besselman@afftonschools.net

Nationwide organization for high school students in the United States and outlying territories, which consists of many chapters in high schools. Selection is based on four criteria: scholarship (academic achievement), leadership, service, and character

ROBOTICS

Mrs. Koblents bkoblents@afftonschools.net

A robotics club is a gathering of students who are interested in learning about and working with robots

SPEECH & DEBATE

Ms. Ward cward@afftonschools.net

Mr. Kozak tkozak@afftonschools.net

Competitive academic activity in which students utilize both their wit and intellect to challenge peers and opponents

STUDENT COUNCIL 

Ms. Miller dmiller@afftonschools.net

Ms. Nelson jnelson@afftonschools.net

share students' ideas, interests, and concerns with teachers and school principals. They often also help raise funds for school-wide activities, including social events, community projects, helping people in need and school reform.

STUDENTS FIGHTING HATE

Ms. Ward cward@afftonschools.net

TEAMS (Tests of Engineering Aptitude, Mathematics, and Science)

Mr. Polokonis dpolokonis@afftonschools.net

Mr. Bernabo abernabo@afftonschools.net

Middle and High School competition helping students discover their potential for engineering.  Using math, science, and 21st. Century learning skills. Students work together to problem-solve real world challenges.  Throughout the competition, students work collaboratively to solve original and innovative engineering scenarios focused on an annual theme.  The test consists of both a collaborative multiple-choice section and an open-ended design competition with a common engineering-based theme. We take three teams of 8-9 students to Rolla (University of Missouri Science and Technology) for the full day competition each spring.

TECHNICAL STUDENT ASSOCIATION (TSA)

Mr. Bernabo abernabo@afftonschools.net

Mr. Heitkoetler mheitkoetler@afftonschools.net

national student organization created to develop skills in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) as well as business education.

TREND

Mrs. Snethen jsnethen@afftonschools.net

Promote Drug Free lifestyle

VARSITY SPORTS CLUB (VSC)

Mrs. Loris dloris@afftonschools.net

Promotes school spirit and student involvement primarily at sporting events, but also other school related activities.  It is open to all students.


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.